Not Amused

Every day the phone rings out,

“Hello Silversides & Friends”

“Can I speak to the person in charge of your electricity account”

I tried a variety of responses:

  • Yes we are registered, we have an account
  • It’s none of your business, I don’t reveal business data to cold callers
  • I’m not interested

If I hung up, I would usually get an immediate call back within a few second with someone else trying the same gambit.If I entered into any form of dialogue it would get quite pointed, and argumentative, with the young Mancunian demanding to know why I was uncooperative and being difficult and that I must register.

I knew I had a perfectly good account at a favourable rate organised by Make It Cheaper, the commercial organisation that is linked to Compare the Market and the various other comparison sites, specifically to service small businesses.

After three weeks of this I was reaching explosive point and told one of the operatives exactly where they could stick their Meter Registration Department.  The telephone rang constantly then for in excess of 20 minutes, each time for 4/5 rings, stopping and then redialing. I had been punished.

So I decided it was time to get even

Leave a comment